About Us

Newcastle City Touch Association grounds are located inside the Newcastle Harness Racing Club, Turton Road New Lambton, immediately behind McDonald’s Jones Stadium (see Location page). Our seven fields are all floodlit and we have ample parking in the Northern car park at McDonald Jones Stadium.

Newcastle City Touch Association organises two senior competitions each year. The summer competition runs from October to March and the winter competition runs from May to August. Summer competition runs for 14 weeks having a three week break over the Christmas period. The winter competition runs for 12 weeks commencing early in May. Both competitions are run in the evenings with the first games commencing at 6.30pm.


Monday night men’s and ladies competitions
Thursday night mixed competitions


Junior competition games are played on Tuesday evenings during summer only, commencing in September and running through to December. Games commence from 4:30pm.


Players registered in our social competitions have the opportunity to trial for our junior and senior representative teams. These teams play in regional, country and NSW State tournaments. Find out more information under the Representative tab.

Club History

Touch football commenced in Newcastle in 1972. The competition was organised by the Department of Sport and Recreation. Newcastle City Touch Association was formed in 1974 with Peter Rymer elected as  the first club president. Since that year Newcastle City Touch has been organising touch competitions, every year, in summer and winter.
In the early 80’s, Newcastle City Touch Association had 293 registered teams in one summer competition with games played on Sunday mornings. The number of teams in that one competition made it the largest single touch competition in Australia, at the time. Newcastle had 16 fields on the outskirts of the International Sports Centre before the Harness Racing Club was established. We now have 7 floodlit fields inside the track of the harness Racing Club at Turton Road Broadmeadow.
Newcastle City touch became affiliated with New South Wales Touch Association in 1983. That year saw Newcastle’s first appearance as a combined division in a country series. The division was made up of Newcastle City, Beresfield, Wallsend and Maitland clubs all of which were affiliated with New South Wales Touch Association. Three Newcastle teams were chosen after selection trials at the then International Sports Centre. They were men’s open, mens over 35’s and womens open. The men’s over 35 contained some players who had made names for themselves in rugby league.

Men’s Open: (coach Mick Gallagher) J. Pitts, C. Friend, C. Lawler, P. Holmes, K. Miller, R.McMahon, W. Olson, (Newcastle) C. Skelton, R. Chillingworth, A. Howard, G. Shields G. Young (Maitland) G.Pegg, D. Boyce (Wallsend)
Men’s Over 35: (coach P. Davis) N. Wilkinson, D. Maddison, K. Campbell, R. Walters, G. Murdoch, G. O’Callaghan, B. Spruce, L. Cox (Newcastle) R. Andrews, A. Hammond, G. Swancott G. Patterson,J. McCarter, G. Walsh (Wallsend) K. Sweetman (Beresfield).
Womens: (coach A. Frost) C. Allcock, S Griffiths, K. Passmore, J. Maddison, J. Ireland, K. Cassidy, J. Johnson,S. Passmore, G. Taylor, J. Rymer, A. Nesbitt (Newcastle)  I.Jennings, T. Towbridge, D. Wellbourne (Maitland) D. Crane (Wallsend)

Newcastle City Touch hosted the NSW State Cup at their fields in 1985, four years before the championships were moved from Sydney to Port Macquarie where they are still being held.
Our first female state representative player was Gai Taylor in 1985 and she went on to represent Australia in 1986.
The first male state representatives were Vince Cronin and Colin Friend in 1986 with Vince being selected for the Australian team later that year.
Newcastle men over 30 team won our first Country Championship in 1987 along with the club championship at those titles and our men 45 team won our first State Cup in 1998.

Since then the club continues to grow and have taken home both junior and senior regional and state titles.

Our junior competition has tripled in numbers since 2017 and provides girls and boys divisions starting from Under 7’s to Under 15’s.

Club Committee

Rebecca Jackson


David Caldwell

Vice President

Grant Doherty


Chris Daley


Position Vacant

Director of Referees

Kerry Campbell/ Kim Miller


Michelle Atkins

General Committee

Rob White

General Committee

Lindsey Brain

General Committee

Stephen Gallagher

General Committee

Toby Kable

General Committee

Greg Gallagher

General Committee

Life Members
Artie Frost
Darryl Jeffs
Graeme Stevens
Janet Lee
Kerry Campbell
Kim Miller
Liz Jeffs
Peter Davis
Peter Rhymer
Richard Hinds
Suzanne Perrott
Wayne Dunning
Wayne Olsen
 Michelle Atkins
Leanne West


Junior Club Captains
2023- Cooper McKenzie/ Isabel Doherty
2022- Abbey McKenzie/ Malachi Sausaofai
2021- Blake Goodchild/ Amali Fitzhenry
2020- Luke Miller/ Bailee Pappas
2019- Alysha Malcomson/ Liam Squires
2018- Connor Edwards/ Sophy Nesbitt
2017- Amber Cheney/ Matt Atkins
2016- Riley Nesbitt/ Phoebe McGuire
2015- Logan Flanagan
2014- Mikenzie McManus/ Jack Flanagan
2013- Brodie Goodchild/ Sophie Buckley


Newcastle City Touch Seniors Presidents
Peter Rhymer 10 years
Peter Davis 2 years
Artie Frost 4 years
Kim Miller 4 years
Kerry ( Joey) Campbell over 25 years
 Rebecca Jackson- Current from 2021
Juniors Presidents
Kim Miller 2 years
Wayne Dunning 10 years
Glenn Flanagan 4 years
Steve Edwards 1 year
Rebecca Jackson- Current from 2017

Contact Us